Where the Past, Present and Future Meet

What do you do to prepare for a new expansion

With Mists of Pandaria on the list of soon to be released games, it is time to start planning ahead. There are a few things I usually do to get ready for a midnight release.

1) Book the next day or 3, off work.

2) Clear out bank space for new shinies.

3) Create a couple of new toons to reserve the name of my new character(s).

4) Stock up on bags for the new character.

5) Stock up on mats to level a new profession.

The best way to prepare for an expansion or major patch is to get together with a bunch of people, friends or guildies, and pool your resources. Each of you picks something such as bags, mats, gear, pots and potions. Everyone builds up a stockpile and shortly before release, you trade with each other. You may want to even for a small guild with alts and us the guild bank as temporary storage for all the goodies you are hoarding.

In regards to your current toons, now is the time to get in all though last minute achievements you have been meaning to do. A few people around the blogoshere have even created bucket lists they want to complete before the end of the expansion.

Aralosseien of Achievements Ahoy – http://achievementsahoy.blogspot.ca/p/bucket-list.html

Cynwise of Cynwise’s Field Note  – http://cynwise.posterous.com/on-making-a-bucket-list-for-mists-of-pandaria

Angela of Revive & Rejuvenate – http://reviveandrejuvenate.blogspot.ca/2012/01/wows-bucket-list.html

4 responses

  1. Aralosseien

    Thank you for the mention! Pooling resources is a sensible idea – I’m doing it with my partner 🙂

    May 9, 2012 at 8:32 am

  2. None of the above.
    1) I’ve seen way to many release days with 8-10 hour down times and people complaining about them taking the day off.
    2) My bank management style is non existent, why change it for that one day in 18 months?
    3) I am not really that attached to names.
    4) There will be plenty of bags around after release day. Bigger bags !
    5) I am not much of a tradeskiller anyway

    The one thing I do, has to do with my inventory. I’ll try to sell all my gear firesale style while it’s still valuable to someone. Once the expansion is active, those top level blue and purples are worth only 10% of their current value. The gear you are wearing will be replaced within 2 or 3 levels, just by questing (depending on how much raid gear you have)

    May 9, 2012 at 8:37 am

  3. That is exactly what our guild has been doing so far…we have not decided who will be our “master crafters” for each profession yet (the person we pool our mats to, in order to up their professions). For cataclysm, we had one of each profession as a main raiding toon so that patterns were a non-issue and such once we started raiding.

    I’ve also created my own bucket list over at Healing Mains 🙂

    May 9, 2012 at 8:39 am

  4. I also have a bucket list over on my blog [a few entries down]. Mainly I’m looking to do those last minute things… or more expensive things [sandstone drake lol] that I’ve been putting off. Now is fantastic time to do those things or alt.

    When the new xpac hits I doubt I’ll do much with my alt army for a couple months.

    May 9, 2012 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

